Categories
20th Century Nostalgia

My Kit-Cat Clock Swings Again: Let Christmas Begin!

cat-2

My daughter gave me a Kit-Cat clock two years ago. Y’know, the black cat clocks with the moving tail and eyes? It’s one of my favorite things and looks great in the kitchen. About two months ago, I noticed it had stopped moving. It still kept time, but the tail and eyes were stationary. A Kit-Cat clock that doesn’t move looks sad and stifled. Stagnant.

I figured that there was probably a trouble shooter’s guide online, so I googled and found videos and said guide. I viewed all the videos, read the instructions, replaced the two “C” batteries exactly as shown in the diagram, balanced the clock on the table, gave the tail a nudge, and it still didn’t work. Kept time, but no moving tail and eyes. Bummer.  I couldn’t get the magnetic forces and batteries coordinated, apparently, to power the animation.

So I went after the eyes. They must be the problem, I thought. The website said that any dust or grease on the eyeballs might cause friction in the magnetism, so I cleaned them off.  Prowling (sorry) around inside the clock, I thought how this bit of 1930s-era Americana kitchen decor is an engineering marvel. There are  J-clips, a platform, a lever, eyeball pins, eye stems and loops that rotate and hold the stems. There’s a magnet, two batteries, that tail and the back panel. So I put it all back together, and still no cat show.

I hung it back up, deciding to tackle the problem another day… which brings me to today.  I pulled the clock back down and  removed the back panel of the clock. Actually, sliding-snapping-scootching (in that order) the back panel off is probably the hardest part of the whole ordeal.

I’ll put brand new batteries in it again, I thought, clinging to the hope that it could be that simple. I pulled out the left battery and caught a glimpse of the battery placement diagram embossed in the shiny black plastic.  Positive up. Whoa. Positive was down. How did I screw that up, I wondered? I thought I had replaced them earlier exactly as shown. All this toil, head-scratching, opening, closing, and scootching and an upside down battery is to blame?  I flipped the battery around, nudged the tail, and my Kit-Cat clock was back in business. Problem solved. Order restored. You may now resume your Christmas festivities.

By Marilyn Yung

Writes | Teaches | Not sure where one ends and the other begins.

5 replies on “My Kit-Cat Clock Swings Again: Let Christmas Begin!”

I have a similar problem with the tail and eyes not moving. I changed batteries, but still no go. Then I noticed one of the batteries was loose and when I put back on wall that battery would not stay in contact. I took clock apart and found that the contact on bottom was corroded so I tried to clean and put back together. Still no go. I got this clock in 1994. So I guess I’ll have to buy another Kit cat clock, without the eyes and tail its no fun, but it does keep time.

Like

Yes. Mine worked for about a month after I wrote this post. Have tried several times to get it to work since but nothing ever works. So it hangs there in the wall motionless. Dang it. Every so often I pull it down and try to figure it out. I thought that possibly the problem was the wall I have it on. There is some electrical wiring in that wall that may interfere with the magnets. But I’ve moved it and still no go. Very frustrating. Thanks for commenting! If I find something out about mine I’ll let you know! Maybe it will help yours!

Like

Leave a comment