Teachers, Do You Have a Business Card?

“What’s your contact info?” asked my new friend, whom I had just met at a PD event this summer. Wishing I had a business card to give her, I resorted to digging into my purse for a pen. Then I tore the corner of a sheet of paper from a spiral notebook in my folder and wrote my name, school, and email address on it. I handed it to her, asking aloud, “Why don’t I have business cards?” She smiled. She didn’t have one either.

I know it’s just a piece of paper, but every other profession utilizes business cards, so why don’t educators have them?

As a non-traditional educator, I didn’t start teaching until age 45. At my various jobs prior to that, my employers always provided me with a business card, whether my title was account executive or designer. In addition, when I wrote freelance, I never considered not having an ample supply of cards. At this point in my life, it feels unprofessional to hold the title of professional certified educator, but not hold the business card in my wallet to prove it.

It seems that I would  benefit from a business card for all kinds of situations, including PD conferences, visits with parents, or discussions with anyone in the business community.

What’s your opinion? Take a minute to comment on any or all of these questions, and I’ll update you soon on what I learn.

  1. Do you have a business card?
  2. If so, did you procure it yourself or did your district provide it?
  3. If you procured your own card, which printing company did you use and how much did you spend?
  4. How has your business card benefitted you?

 

 

20 thoughts on “Teachers, Do You Have a Business Card?

  1. Adrienne August 9, 2016 / 3:00 pm

    1. Do you have a business card? Not currently, but, after attending a couple of conferences recently, I wish I did.

    2. If so, did you procure it yourself or did your district provide it?They did when I first joined the district in the 90’s. I can;t remember when they stopped giving them to us, but they don;t anymore and haven’t for a long time.

    I have another conference to go to in January and I am curious to hear the answers other people give.

    Like

  2. Stacey Shubitz August 9, 2016 / 5:19 pm

    I have never had a district provide me with a business card. When I taught, I printed my own. Now that I consult, I have them professionally printed. Here’s the woman I get mine from: https://www.etsy.com/people/nancynikkodesign. She’s easy to work with and quite reasonable.

    Like

  3. Lisa August 9, 2016 / 5:59 pm

    I don’t. If I did, I’d probably be like my husband and half of them would end up in the laundry or lost in some other way. 🙂

    Like

    • marilynyung August 9, 2016 / 9:04 pm

      Well, yes and then there’s that… 😬 Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  4. beckymusician August 9, 2016 / 7:08 pm

    My school has always provided us with business cards. It’s a private school. Unfortunately, I usually don’t have any with me when I need them, but I’ve been working on that.
    I also have non-school business cards, which I got through Vistaprint. I do not recommend them. They were inexpensive, but the end result is not as sharp as I would like — the colors are not vibrant and the print is not really sharp.

    Like

    • marilynyung August 9, 2016 / 9:03 pm

      Thank you for your feedback and for the comment about Vistaprint!

      Like

  5. mbhmaine August 9, 2016 / 8:01 pm

    Until I read your post I never even considered having business cards. Having recently attended ILA16, I can see why they would come in handy. Now you have me wondering,”Why don’t educators have business cards?” Food for thought…

    Like

    • marilynyung August 9, 2016 / 9:02 pm

      Thank you for commenting! Yes, why not have business cards?!

      Like

  6. Jaana August 9, 2016 / 10:55 pm

    Great question! In my previous district my admin made them for me. Now I don’t have any, but found in my last training that I could have really used some. I have to really think about getting some…..Thanks for your questions!

    Like

    • marilynyung August 9, 2016 / 11:22 pm

      Thanks for commenting! It’s interesting that business cards are an afterthought for most.

      Like

  7. franmccrackin August 10, 2016 / 1:09 am

    Years ago I was part of a group of teachers visiting Japan. We were required to have cards, as they are very important in Japan. We were taught the polite way to give and receive business cards in Japan. I printed my own on special perforated paper and they came out very nice. I never re-did them, however, and don’t normally carry them. But I agree with you that teachers should have them. My trip to Japan turned me into a different teacher- I felt more professional, more valued, more challenged, more a part of a larger educational world. And having a card was part of that. You have inspired me to make new ones and carry a few around with me 🙂

    I am glad you brought this up- it is good for teachers to consider. Could be the beginning of thinking of themselves and their profession in a different and larger way.

    Like

    • marilynyung August 10, 2016 / 1:14 am

      What an encouraging comment! Your Japan trip sounds empowering in how it altered your perspective of your career. Interesting feedback. Thank you.

      Like

  8. cvarsalona August 10, 2016 / 3:02 am

    Interesting Marilyn that when I am at conferences speaking, I am always asked if I have a business card. When I was a districtwide administrator, I purchased them but now that I am a consultant, I just never had time to think about it. I sometimes use my NYEDChat cards or make my own.

    Like

  9. ALR August 10, 2016 / 10:58 pm

    no, but this is an awesome idea!!

    Like

  10. Amy August 14, 2016 / 1:34 pm

    I created my own business cards with Vistaprint. They have my name, cell phone number, email address, Twitter handle, and a QR that links back to my blog. I’ve only handed out a few, but they were very handy to have around so that I could avoid the scrap paper and pen search that you mentioned (which I have done countless times before). I keep a few in my wallet and some in my school bag now so they’re always available if the need arises.

    Like

Leave a Reply

